Prevent the Deletion of Home Screen Bookmarks With 'BookLock'
When people get ahold of your iPhone, voluntarily or involuntarily, sometimes you donít end up getting your iPhone back the same way you left it. You might end up with icons moved around or missing from your home screen, or some settings might be changed because the person playing with your iPhone was curious. If you like adding home screen bookmarks to your home screen from Mobile Safari, these are probably precious bookmarks you donít want to lose either since you bookmarked them for a reason.
A new jailbreak tweak is now live in Cydia dubbed BookLock
by iOS developer Sirex
. With BookLock, you can avoid having your precious home screen bookmarks, from the Web, deleted. This will keep curiosity from killing the cat and help ensure that your home screen bookmarks arenít deleted without your permission. As shown above, BookLock will make sure the black ĎXí will be missing from the home screen bookmark icon when you enter jiggle mode so it canít be deleted.
To use BookLock, you simply enable and disable it from the preferences pane, which you will find in the Settings application after you install the tweak. The preferences pane has no other options Ė enabling the tweak will keep your home screen bookmarks from being deleted and disabling the tweak will allow your home screen bookmarks to be deleted:
BookLock comes with an obvious flaw, that anyone with access to your iOS device can easily go into your Settings application and disable the tweak if they want to remove a bookmark from your home screen. But again, the question arises: Is everyone one-hundred percent sure that you have BookLock installed and are they guaranteed to know how to enable and disable it? Chances are, BookLock will keep you secure from about 70% of the population since people won't even think twice about it when they can't delete one of your home screen bookmarks, but it's still a risk you have to take.
We would have to hope that a future version of the tweak will have some kind of passcode protection measure so that people can't disable the tweak without knowing your pasccode.