• Your favorite

    Apple

    ,

    iPhone

    ,

    iPad

    ,

    iOS

    ,
    Jailbreak
    , and
    Cydia
    site.
  • Apple CAN Kill Confirmed by Steve
    Well they can kill apps on your iPhone at least. Phone hacker and author of iPhone Forensics Jonathan Zdziarski discovered a remote url that Apple uses to keep a list of offending applications.

    https://iphone-services.apple.com/clbl/unauthorizedApps

    ďThis suggests that the iPhone calls home once in a while to find out what applications it should turn off. At the moment, no apps have been blacklisted, but by all appearances, this has been added to disable applications that the user has already downloaded and paid for, if Apple so chooses to shut them down" according to Zdziarski's first impressions.

    With further investigation Zdziarski confirmed his initial speculations. "With a little DNS spoofing, Iíve managed to feed my own list into the iPhone and effectively kill any application that attempts to use the GPS, including Google Maps. It looks like tasers are only set to Ďstuní right now, but that may just be because I havenít found the knob to vaporize the app."

    On Monday Steve Jobs confirmed that Apple can in fact kill applications at will in the Wall Street Journal. "Hopefully, we never have to pull that lever," Jobs said, "but we would be irresponsible not to have a lever like that to pull."

    [via cnet pocket-lint zdziarski]
    This article was originally published in forum thread: Apple CAN Kill Confirmed by Steve started by Cody Overcash View original post
    Comments 41 Comments
    1. smiska2's Avatar
      smiska2 -
      Big Brothers watching...
    1. 1_iPhone_Lovin_Canadian's Avatar
      1_iPhone_Lovin_Canadian -
      I PHOOOOONNNEE CALLLLL HOMMMMME!!!!.............hooommmeeeee.

      this is not right..........
    1. fungrified's Avatar
      fungrified -
      some one should make an app called malicious and see what happens when u try open it lol
    1. sikdaz's Avatar
      sikdaz -
      that sucks hardcore... kill apps hm! that's bogus!
    1. sayam's Avatar
      sayam -
      there's already a hack out by Jonathon Zdziarski to kill this call home function (just for jailbreakers)
    1. MetallicaFan1991's Avatar
      MetallicaFan1991 -
      If Apple can see what apps you have on the iPhone, won't they be able to see the apps from Installer/Cydia on the iPhone aswell then as it "calls home"? Could they block them?
    1. jltdhome's Avatar
      jltdhome -
      Quote Originally Posted by sayam View Post
      there's already a hack out by Jonathon Zdziarski to kill this call home function (just for jailbreakers)
      What is it called and where do I get it?
    1. drew31186's Avatar
      drew31186 -
      To disable the "call in" functionality entirely, jailbreak with Pwnage or Winpwn Tool, then add the following entry into /etc/hosts:

      127.0.0.1 iphone-services.apple.com

      Good luck! All credit and thanks to Jonathan Zdziarski for keeping the wheels turning, Jonathan Zdziarski's Domain
    1. andrewe13's Avatar
      andrewe13 -
      what does "Call In" functionality Do??
    1. Rescuer's Avatar
      Rescuer -
      Quote Originally Posted by andrewe13 View Post
      what does "Call In" functionality Do??
      http://www.modmyi.com/forums/1848251-post1.html
    1. Poseidon79's Avatar
      Poseidon79 -
      I'm still a bit confused on exactly how this kill process works. Does Apple have a built in off switch on all official apps that can be triggered? How can they detect unofficial apps and what method would they use to kill these?
    1. jaredb03's Avatar
      jaredb03 -
      Quote Originally Posted by drew31186 View Post
      To disable the "call in" functionality entirely, jailbreak with Pwnage or Winpwn Tool, then add the following entry into /etc/hosts:

      127.0.0.1 iphone-services.apple.com

      Good luck! All credit and thanks to Jonathan Zdziarski for keeping the wheels turning, Jonathan Zdziarski's Domain

      where do you add that in the file? Just at the bottom? or in place of something?
    1. riku98523's Avatar
      riku98523 -
      That's a good question I am pretty good with computers but I have no idea what your talking about there. Maybe because its more of a Mac shell thing anyone want to give us steps on it or is it a during jailbreak process?
    1. rz.'s Avatar
      rz. -
      So those of us who have already pwned our iphones at 2.01 have to re-pwn? Is this "kill" feature a new function in the 2.0X firmwares?
    1. Razz's Avatar
      Razz -
      That's a good question I am pretty good with computers but I have no idea what your talking about there. Maybe because its more of a Mac shell thing anyone want to give us steps on it or is it a during jailbreak process?
      You can just open the file /etc/hosts with any text editor. Add the line:

      127.0.0.1 iphone-services.apple.com

      then save the file. This works similarly to the windows host file. Essentially it is telling the machine that any application navigating to iphone-services.apple.com will be redirected to 127.0.0.1 (localhost).

      **You must be jailbroken to access the iphone's file system.**
    1. ultimatexpka's Avatar
      ultimatexpka -
      aww man all my favorite cracked api files =( wait i dont think apis will be affected =P
    1. Happy Noodle Boy's Avatar
      Happy Noodle Boy -
      Quote Originally Posted by ultimatexpka View Post
      aww man all my favorite cracked api files =( wait i dont think apis will be affected =P
      No they won't. This is simply a fail safe option in case a malicious app goes through and ends up in the store. I don't think they can tell the difference between a cracked app and not.

      And honestly, I don't see why people are going ahead and disabling this. The only reason this is on your phone is to protect you.
    1. x2thaz64's Avatar
      x2thaz64 -
      wont this only effect people who update there firmware??? i still have 1.1.4 so i should be good right?
    1. robbpell's Avatar
      robbpell -
      i dont see why people are so pissed about this they havent used it to remove the apps that where taken off so it is obviously a safety feature i hope someone comes up with a hack to disable it that way all you ppl that are so worried will have all there information stolen when a real malicious app comes out and stays on your phone
    1. johandc's Avatar
      johandc -
      Quote Originally Posted by robbpell View Post
      i dont see why people are so pissed about this they havent used it to remove the apps that where taken off so it is obviously a safety feature i hope someone comes up with a hack to disable it that way all you ppl that are so worried will have all there information stolen when a real malicious app comes out and stays on your phone
      Indeed people! Don't go all in panic mode now cos u discovered this!

      This feature is here only to protect u, I am sure that Apple will never ever use it unless there is a real need to use it, so please calm down, and be happy that Apple is here to protect us (if necessary)!