• Your favorite

    Apple

    ,

    iPhone

    ,

    iPad

    ,

    iOS

    ,
    Jailbreak
    , and
    Cydia
    site.
  • Longitude Keeps You Connected to Google Latitude: RealTime GPS Tracking


    What is Google Latitude?
    Google Latitude is a location-aware mobile app currently available as a WebApp only. A Mobile Phone user can use Google Latitude to allow specific people access to their current location via Google Maps. Privacy controls are available for the users to select whether contacts can see their exact location, enter an address manually, or turn it off all together. In order to use this service, a user must load the webapp every time they want to update their location via Safari or another mobile based browser.

    What Does Longitude Do and Why Should I Use It?
    Longitude is an App developed by Technivations, designed to work along side Google Latitude, that provides a more logical way of using Google Latitude. Longitude provides the ability to automatically update Google Latitude with your iPhone's location on a set interval. Your Google information is sent securely, and will NOT be sent to any third party servers. The program runs in the background, so as usual, this app is only available to Jailbroken users.

    This feature is only available with Longitude. Currently in order for Google Latitude to update your location, you need to remember to open Safari, pop in the address, wait for it to connect and update, etc. This tweak offers a solution provided nowhere else. Just make sure you don't invite anyone to view your location that you don't really want to know where you are!

    Features include:
    - Auto Update your location via GPS to Google Lattitude
    - Share your location with friends via Lattitude
    - Find your iPhone if it gets lost!
    - Login securely using Google Account info
    The app is available for $1.99 on the RockApp Store

    UPDATE: Will be released on Cydia sometime next week.

    Official Website: Longitude by Technivations

    This article was originally published in forum thread: Longitude Keeps You Connected to Google Latitude: RealTime GPS Tracking started by nickhesson View original post
    Comments 94 Comments
    1. phenixdragon's Avatar
      phenixdragon -
      I installed this a few days ago and Longitude shows it updates but when I check Latitude it doesn't show my update.

      Any ideas?
    1. andygev35's Avatar
      andygev35 -
      Did u add Latitude to your iGoogle page?
    1. phenixdragon's Avatar
      phenixdragon -
      Quote Originally Posted by andygev35 View Post
      Did u add Latitude to your iGoogle page?
      I did and it shows it hasn't updated my location since yesterday. but Longitude it setup for every 5 minutes and it always shows it does update.
    1. phenixdragon's Avatar
      phenixdragon -
      Looks like it is working properly now.
    1. fergusean's Avatar
      fergusean -
      Happy New Year everyone!

      I'm pleased to announce the release of Longitude 1.5.1. This new version contains many new features and bug fixes:

      * International support (sorry about the last version!)
      * Improved battery life and memory footprint
      * Fixed memory leak
      * SBSettings toggle
      * Update Now button
      * Last update result
      * Additional update intervals
      * Latitude no longer displays "Your location is set manually"
      * About screen updated & scrolls
      * New support section with FAQs
      * Support request with built-in diagnostics for quick troubleshooting
      * No more dependency on the iGoogle page

      This version is available NOW on both Rock Your Phone AND Cydia! All expired trials in Rock have been reset, so those of you who experienced issues with the first one should be able to try it again and will hopefully be pleased with the result! Also, those who purchased it in Rock in the past should be able to download it on Cydia!

      In celebration of the new year, Longitude is ON SALE for $0.99 until midnight of 1/3/2010 EST.

      If you encounter any issues with the new version, please note that there is a new "request support" feature built into that will include a diagnostic report so that any issues you experience may be quickly and easily resolved.

      Thank you for your support, and we wish you the very best in this new year!
    1. kraziebone's Avatar
      kraziebone -
      Thank you so much I love this app. I just have a question, I have set it up on 4 iPhones now in my family and only 2 are updating regularly. The other 2 are not and I don't know why. Should I reinstall on this iPhone? I will request support but just wanted to ask here first.
    1. edwilk55's Avatar
      edwilk55 -
      Quote Originally Posted by kraziebone View Post
      Thank you so much I love this app. I just have a question, I have set it up on 4 iPhones now in my family and only 2 are updating regularly. The other 2 are not and I don't know why. Should I reinstall on this iPhone? I will request support but just wanted to ask here first.
      Reinstall first...then ask for support. A few of us have had to reinstall to get it to work. No problems after that.
    1. Dorkington's Avatar
      Dorkington -
      I wonder if it'd be possible for a 3rd party developer to make their own app... the maps api is there... is there a latitude api out yet?
    1. Dorkington's Avatar
      Dorkington -
      Seems to have stopped updating my location for me after I bought the license.
    1. phenixdragon's Avatar
      phenixdragon -
      I had to reinstall to get it to work after buying it.
    1. area51crypto's Avatar
      area51crypto -
      Download the Trial of Longitude in Cydia a few weeks ago and after a few days I decided to purchase the app!

      That is when the problem begain!

      I open Cyida and chose Longitude and Tried to purchase but got the 403 error screen Forbiden from ModMyI repo!

      So I closed Cyida and open Rock and chose the app and chose to purchase the app! The purchase went perfect and licenes was applied sucessfully, aka no problems so far!

      A few days later I noticed a change when I open of Cydia, went to the changeand it showed an update for Longitude and accepted and started the upgrade and got the 403 screen error Forbidden from ModMyI Repo!

      I closed Cydia and open Rock and there was a new update for Longitude and I accepted and then the download started and worked great!

      I noticed sometime later that there was a change listed in Cydia and it was for Longitude and it was not a new but the same one as before!

      Tried everything I new to do which is limited so I pm a mod here about the problem and never got a response!

      As time went by I just got tired of looking at Cydia Icon showing a false update! I have contacted others involved with this and no response!

      Today I just simply deleted Longitude!

      I open Cyida chose Longitude and PURCHASED the app again! All is working now with not false update showing on Cydia!

      Its a bummer that I had to purchase the app twice but I like the app and maybe the Dev just needed some more money!
    1. fergusean's Avatar
      fergusean -
      I'm sorry that you had such trouble with it. Unfortunately, the whole purchasing, payment, and download system is completely out of my control. That's between the host of Cydia Store and ModMyi. That said, I unfortunately also have no way to issue you a refund, but if you contact [email protected], he should be able to. If you have any problems with the app itself, please feel free to PM me and I'll do what I can. Thanks for purchasing!
    1. area51crypto's Avatar
      area51crypto -
      Quote Originally Posted by fergusean View Post
      I'm sorry that you had such trouble with it. Unfortunately, the whole purchasing, payment, and download system is completely out of my control. That's between the host of Cydia Store and ModMyi. That said, I unfortunately also have no way to issue you a refund, but if you contact [email protected], he should be able to. If you have any problems with the app itself, please feel free to PM me and I'll do what I can. Thanks for purchasing!
      Your are correct in there is a problem with Cydia and ModmyI as far as a compadibility problem, bad thing is that is has been going on for months and they are several post about it but NObody seems to care are doesn't want to fix.

      I also had a problem with another app, which it was not with the purchasing phaze but support! I could not get it to work as it was suppost to and the dev or the app didn't care! If had not been for a member of Modmyi making her versio of the plugin it would still not be working, my hat is off to her!

      Its just got to the point that people just don't want to take care of the little things!

      As far as Saurik he has to many things going on all to the time!

      And also the first purchase was made from Rock because I kept getting 403 error screen from Modmyi when using Cydia!

      Anyway may the dev enjoy his spoils it he or she did infact receive them!

      You just live and learn, just sometimes the lesson cost more!

      Have a nice day!

      Area

      Quote Originally Posted by fergusean View Post
      I'm sorry that you had such trouble with it. Unfortunately, the whole purchasing, payment, and download system is completely out of my control. That's between the host of Cydia Store and ModMyi. That said, I unfortunately also have no way to issue you a refund, but if you contact [email protected], he should be able to. If you have any problems with the app itself, please feel free to PM me and I'll do what I can. Thanks for purchasing!
      Thanks for purchasing it TWICE
    1. fergusean's Avatar
      fergusean -
      yes, that too

      you said one of the purchases was through Rock? if you give me your Rock ID, I can get a refund issued for that.